REVIEW: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

image

*contains minor spoilers*


Title: The Unexpected Eveything

Author: Morgan Matson

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

ISBN: 9781481404549

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?”

Who doesn’t love Morgan Matson?

You can’t honestly tell me that her cutesy, fluffy contemporary books don’t make you feel all mushy and giddy inside.

When I first grabbed this book, I had no idea what the book was about or who the characters were. I just knew it was a Morgan Matson book and I had to buy it.

I want to divide this review into three parts, just to make your job easier and make sure that you get what the main themes of the book were. Mind you, I’ve given this book 5 out of 5 so this will be a part-professional-part-fangirl review.

1. Friends

This doesn’t really have to do with family but I need to say this and this subtitle is the most appropriate one, soo… I was expecting (that awkward moment when you forget the protagonist’s name and blank for a few seconds) Andie to be a spoiled brat and her friend group to be like the mean girls of the school, not caring about other’s feelings and being pretty ignorant about important topics but that wasn’t the case at all. They actually had a pretty tight-knit friend group that I would love to be a part of. They knew almost everything about each other and they could actually communicate without even having to talk and most importantly, they valued each other’s emotions so much and they put them above anything else. Don’t even get me started on how much fun they had together.

I think the character that I can mainly relate to is Toby. I could understand her love of romantic movies and anything about romance, as I’m the same. I am her, she is me, we are one. Especially after the last part of the book, I can definitely say that Toby and I are very much alike.

“Because believing you’re not alone is the cruelest trick of all.”

2. Family

I’m really glad the progress of Andie and her father turned out the way it did. They managed to overcome the bumps in the road and move forward. And I’m really happy they got over the very last problem without major consequences, too.

3. Love

I think Clark and Andie were so cute. They had their differences but they managed to overcome them and in my opinion that’s a really hard thing to do, especially with your “significant other”

“Wherever there is great emotion. because there is power in that. And few people handle power well.”

**spoiler**

I loved the idea of a scavenger hunt (Since You’ve Been Gone, anyone?) and I think it was a really fun part of the book.

**end of spoiler**

However, my most favorite part was Clark meeting Andie’s dad for the first time, without a doubt.

I also loved the whole part of dog walking! I’d definitely do it if I could.

So, I can say that The Unexpected Everything is (a bit predictable) a great, cute summer read with characters that you can relate to. It’s about love, family and friendships, and figuring out who you are.

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository

Leave a Reply

