REVIEW: Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake

25897851

Title: Suffer Love

Author: Ashley Herring Blake

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing

ISBN: 9780544596320

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis: “Just let it go.”

That’s what everyone keeps telling Hadley St. Clair after she learns that her father cheated on her mother. But Hadley doesn’t want to let it go. She wants to be angry and she wants everyone in her life—her dad most of all—to leave her alone.

Sam Bennett and his family have had their share of drama too. Still reeling from a move to a new town and his parents’ recent divorce, Sam is hoping that he can coast through senior year and then move on to hassle-free, parent-free life in college. He isn’t looking for a relationship…that is, until he sees Hadley for the first time.

Hadley and Sam’s connection is undeniable, but Sam has a secret that could ruin everything. Should he follow his heart or tell the truth?”

Suffer Love was an intense book, and by intense I mean intense. Every emotion you can possibly think of was hidden inside this book, from hope to heartbreak, love to anger, the characters (mostly the main) felt every emotion in such a short time period. These emotions were so strong that even as a reader, could feel them. I was smiling and my heart was clenching and I became frustrated and I was overjoyed, all because of a 350-page book.

The “plot twist” is pretty predictable. I’m not going to spoil it or anything, but I just thought I should warn you beforehand.

The two main characters, Hadley and Sam, were alike. They had similar thoughts on certain things and they had similar coping mechanisms that helped them “forget” for at least a short period of time. This may be mainly why they find it easy to talk to each other or console each other but I think it is also important to note that the love or whatever connection there is between two people is bound to burn out quickly, if the said people are alike. Soooo… Don’t know what that does to my ship now *stifles a sob*

“If I’ve learned anything in the past six months, it’s that life is a fickle little bitch and there’s not one damn thing I can do to tame her.”

I could understand Hadley’s whole dilemma with letting go of what happened between her dad and mother, because cheating is not something that you can let go of easily, especially if it’s not a one-time-thing but an actual affair. I’m always flabbergasted after hearing someone getting back together with their significant others after learning that they cheated on them, because how can you put your trust in someone after they completely rip it apart? But then again, I guess your perspective and way of thinking changes over time or when you get older, so, good luck Hadley.

“He lied. He’s not a liar.”

The character who disturbed me (because c’mon, there has to be one) was Kat. She was unbelievably ignorant and I’m pretty sure tried her best making Hadley miserable. There are just some things you do as a best friend, and then there are things you simply don’t. Kat didn’t know where the line ended and said some mean stuff that I can’t believe ever left her mouth. And the only time she corrected her attitude was when Hadley almost became her old self, the one before the incident. No, Kat. No.

Other than this, I find the ending a bit rushed. I didn’t know what happened and I couldn’t  fully grasp the ending. I wish there was a more detailed ending, providing us with an insight on what happened to each of the characters. For me, it seemed like some characters got their closure but some didn’t.

However, I can say that Suffer Love is definitely entering my favourites shelf. I loved the plot, I loved the characters (besides Kat, hah) and I loved the Shakespeare references. This was like a modern retelling of Romeo and Juliet, with its love and heartbreak and betrayal. I definitely recommend it to everyone who is a sucker for young love and drama.:’)

“Suffer love! A good epithet. I do suffer love indeed, for I love thee against my will.”

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository

Leave a Reply

