REVIEW: Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

25756328

Title: Love & Gelato

Author: Jenna Evans Welch

Publisher: Simon Pulse

ISBN: 9781481432542

Rating: 4.5/5

Synopsis: “I made the wrong choice.”

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is get back home.

But then she is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina’s uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires Lina, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother’s footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept for far too long. It’s a secret that will change everything she knew about her mother, her father—and even herself.

People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more.”

Note: I’m so sorry for not being active this past month, I was in Washington DC (yeah!!!) for a summer camp/school thing in Georgetown University and I had absolutely no time to even look at the book I brought with me (which is Graceling) but that didn’t stop me from buying a dozen new books from Barnes & Noble, as you can guess *evil laugh*


First thing you should know about me, I love everything about Italy. It’s my favourite country ever and even though I went there many times, I still look for another holiday or vacation to spend in Italy. This was mainly why I grabbed Love & Gelato when I saw it in Target.

Love & Gelato is a book about Lina, who has to move to Italy to live with her father (whom she has just learned about) after her mother dies. Lina, while trying to adapt to a life without her mother and a life in Italy and a life with her father, receives her mother’s old journal. The thing about this journal is that Lina’s mother had it on her year abroad, studying in Italy, so Lina decides to live the Italian memory with her mom, through a journal.

“If it seems too good to be true, it probably is.”

I started and finished this book in like 3 hours, which will prove my “not-a-dull-book” point. Believe me, you will turn the pages with ease, not once will you be bored or feel suffocated and having a struggle with reading it.

I also feel the need to state that Love & Gelato was probably one of the cutest books I’ve ever read, so if you’re ever in need of a book with fluffy romance and a fast-flowing story (not in a bad way), this should be your go-to book. There is no major drama in it, or nothing that would make you sit and think.

I loved how Lina was so dedicated to solve the mystery she found in her mother’s journal (trying so hard not to give any spoilers here), she didn’t give up and she could easily come up with a solution if she were to face an obstacle. Even if she didn’t, Ren was there to help her. (I could easily predict what would happen next, though)

“Turns out there’s a reason they call it falling in love, because when it happens – really happens – that’s exactly how it feels. There’s no doing or trying, you just let go and hope that someone’s going to be there to catch you.”

However, I didn’t understand how Lina ended up with who she ended up with, because she did a total 180 there and I think that part needed a bit more explanation (meaning, what changed her mind, why did her mind change, etc.)

Anyway, I have nothing but good stuff to say about Love & Gelato and Jenna Evans Welch. It was a super cute summer story with super cute characters, telling you all about hidden beauties in the world and first loves.

“You may be slow to warm up, but once you do, you light up the whole room.”

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository

Leave a Reply

