REVIEW: Penryn & The End of Days by Susan Ee

6a013487de8961970c01bb08184ce2970d-250wi-side

Title: Penryn & The End of Days (Angelfall, World After, End of Days)

Author: Susan Ee

Publisher: Hodder Books

ISBN: 978-1444778519 (Book 1)

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.” (Book 1)

After reading the praises for Angelfall left on the review section of Goodreads, I knew I had to get to it. I’m not a fan of dystopia yet the whole concept of “apocalypse” and “angel” intrigued me enough for me to go pick these little gems up (and by pick up I mean order online because how was I supposed to find these in stores in Turkey hah)

However, angels aren’t the good guys here. In fact, they are the ones who start the trouble and cause the damage. You know, not the nice, helpful, cute guys. Well, they are hot, actually, or at least that’s what Penryn, who has not been in a proper relationship before or after the apocalypse and has been forced to see almost the entire human race disappear off the face of the earth (including the men, obviously), says.

“‘Oh. My. God.’ I lower my voice, having forgotten to whisper. ‘You are nothing but a bird with an attitude. Okay, so you have a few muscles, I’ll grant you that. But you know, a bird is nothing but a barely evolved lizard. That’s what you are.'”

Penryn is this badass character who only has her mother and sister Paige left from her family and she is willing to sacrifice everything in order to save them and get through the apocalypse. But that goal becomes a little hard when your mother is, well, a bit crazy and your sister is paralyzed and wheelchair-bound.

She meets Raffe, or should I say Raphael, the archangel, one night and they become partners-in-crime once they realize that the same person has what each of them wants. For Raffe, it’s his wings and for Penryn, it’s her sister, Paige.

On the journey to find this person -or people-, they witness a lot of weird things that eventually make them understand that not everything is what it seems to be. They face confusion, betrayal, anger and even more confusion.

And of course, love.

“‘What if they don’t let us go through?’ I ask, trying not to move my lips.

‘They will,’ he answers from the dark recesses of the backseat footwell.

‘How do you know?’

‘Because you have the look they’re looking for.’

‘What look is that?’

‘Beautiful.'”

I know, I know. Cheesy and quite expected, to be honest, but come on, what’s a good book without a hint of romance in it? And I mean it when I say “a hint” because both Raffe and Penryn were so… indifferent that you  I just wanted to knock their heads together so that there would be at least some sense in it.

Believe me, you won’t get enough of them and their “”love”” and that’s not necessarily because it is so romantic, but rather because there was. So. Little. Of. It (which I think was a really cruel thing, considering I’m a hopeless romantic and live off these moments).

“It is not the gentle kiss of a couple on a first date, nor is it the kiss of a man driven by simple lust. He kisses me with the desperation of a dying man who believes the magic of eternal life is in this kiss.”

I’m trying not to give any spoilers here but believe me, the action and the drama in this series is so awesome that you’re going to devour the whole thing in like 3 or 4 days. Sure, it was sometimes boring, nothing is perfect, but it wasn’t the “oh-my-god-I’m-going-to-shoot-myself” kind, more like “skip-a-few-lines-to-get-to-where-the-fun-part-begins” boring. There were times where I felt like I was having a brain-freeze because I was reading over the lines and not getting anything, everything seemed incomprehensible and blah blah blah but I just give that to the lethargy of trying to read a series about angels messing everything up they touch. The series was still great though, my conscience won’t let me take off any points off the rating.

Before I end the review, I need to say how much I loved Dee and Dum. These two were so funny with their schemes and talk, especially in the first and last book. They were rays of sunshine in the world that was lost in void and darkness and everybody needs people like these two in their life. Not for their success in making a good, strategic plan but rather their ability to be carefree and teach people how to let go of pain even for a little while.

“‘… Just because I don’t have a problem on the outside visible for the world to see doesn’t mean I’m not messed up on the inside. That can be just as hard to deal with.'”

And finally, another very important thing in the series was family values in my opinion. Anyone who reads the book can tell that Penryn has her hands full as she is both the food supply, transporter and protector of her family. Her mom has too many personal problems to deal with that she cannot care for Penryn and Penryn has to survive without a mother’s support. While the mother is fighting her own devils, Paige is also trying to fit in the new form of world as a child but also as the only one of her kind (which you will understand later) Penryn doesn’t think of leaving them alone once though, I mean she does but she is never actually willing to do it. Whatever she does, she does for the sake of her family no matter how much of a burden they are to her and I think this is what family really means. It doesn’t have to be by blood, the Youngs are just an example of this. You have to care for them and support them without letting them down (as long as it isn’t a toxic relationship, that is)

To sum up, I think I can say that Penryn & The End of Days was a pretty awesome series. If you want to read an action-packed series with a badass female protagonist (say whaaat?!) and an Adonis-like angel trying to save the world (and their own kinds, too), what are you waiting for?!

“Okay, maybe we’re not the most civilized beings in the universe, but then, who is?”

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository (book 1 only)

Leave a Reply

