REVIEW: Confess by Colleen Hoover

22609310

Title: Confess

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publisher: Atria Books

ISBN: 9781476791456

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…”

This book.

THIS BOOK.

I’m quite mad at myself because I finished this book in 6 days when I could actually devour it in hours. Seriously, Colleen Hoover never ceases to amaze me, I haven’t read all of her books yet but the ones I did read were both fascinating and heart-wrenching.

As I expected, Confess was equally amazing, if not more, as her other books that I’ve read.

To be honest this review is going to be quite short because I can say nothing but good things about this book. The characters were constructed beautifully, each had their flaws and motivations and I loved that. I could feel the hopelessness of the characters and I could feel their happiness, sadness, anger and every other emotion. Those who follow me on Goodreads can see my status, at one point, it was all becoming too much and I said “I have never felt this helpless in my whole life”, not because I was actually feeling helpless but because reading about the what the characters were going through affected me and I could feel it in my veins.

And the romance, God, the romance was unbelievable. I am a huge sucker for romance and everything that has to do with romance so it was pretty obvious that I was going to love this book but I wasn’t expecting it to be this good.

“‘How many days have we actually seen each other since we met?’ he asks. (…) I shrug. ‘I don’t know. Four? Five?’ He slowly shakes his head. ‘If you count today, it’s seven,’ he says, sliding a hand through my hair. ‘So tell me, Auburn. How is it possible that I’m already falling in love with you?'”

The plot wasn’t mind-blowing, in fact, it was quite expectable but I think it was the way the book was written that got me smitten. The sentences were full of emotion and thoughts that weren’t expressed out loud. I marked, like, 7 or so sentences with post-its.

“I’m scared I’ll never feel this again with anyone else,” I whisper.
He squeezes my hands. “I’m scared you will.”

Lastly, the connection with art was astonishing. I loved the paintings, I don’t really know how to explain them without showing them to you and I don’t want to do that because in order to feel the paintings, I believe that you need to see them between the pages and the story. They won’t make any sense when they are alone. Another great thing was the whole idea of taking a confession and painting it. I loved the whole concept of it and I’d love to read every single confession Owen has out there and the paintings they are attached to.

“The painting was called ‘When I’m with You, I Think of All the Great Things I Could Be If I Were Without You.’

I don’t think this review made sense in any way because it was mostly me blabbering about the amazing things about Confess and honestly, I did try to find one single thing that I didn’t like about this book but no, I couldn’t.

Go buy this book, I guarantee you, you won’t be disappointed because to me, Colleen Hoover is slowly proving that she is a goddess.

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository

Leave a Reply

