REVIEW: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

18660447

Title: The Fill-In Boyfriend

Author: Kasie West

Publisher: HarperTeen

ISBN: 9780062336385

Rating: 3/5

Synopsis: “When Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she’d been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.

The problem is that days after prom, it’s not the real Bradley she’s thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn’t even know. But tracking him down doesn’t mean they’re done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend’s graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.”

Unlike most of my friends who insist on reading books with original and unique plots, full of action and drama and plot twists, I actually don’t mind reading cheesy YA romance books. In fact, they might even be my favourite books.

Seriously, give me a good, cute romance book and I will be able to finish it in three hours, four hours top.

That was the case with this book.

It was a fast read, I finished it in one day, I guess? And I’m sure it would have been less if I didn’t have school. It was a serious page-turner, I didn’t get bored while reading it at all so that’s a plus part of the book.

However, my expectations that got very high after reading all the wonderful comments and praises on this book weren’t quite fulfilled. This was mainly because of the characters, though. I had nothing wrong with the writing style of the author or anything like that.

I felt like the relationship between Gia and Hayden was very… unnatural? I couldn’t feel the chemistry between them. Maybe more details were needed, about their relationships and their thoughts about each other as well.

“Hayden?”
“Yes,Gia?”
“Nothing I just wanted to say your name”

Also, I need to add that Gia’s friends were definitely something else. In my opinion, their friendship was based on the fact that they had got used to each other after years of friendship but there wasn’t  anything “touchy” besides that. They didn’t have deep information about each other, they didn’t know what the other person liked and didn’t like. At times, it was very hard to read about them and their conversations. Again, like Gia and Hayden’s relationship, this group of friends was very unnatural/stiff, too (well, you get what I mean). And I think that at the end of the book, they needed a proper closure—the whole group.

My favourite thing about this book is how Gia was able to broaden her (social) circle. She started off as a member of the popular squad at school, half bitchy and quarter mean and ended up as someone whose main goal was to make a change, a difference. She befriended completely different people and she was okay with it. All in all, I am very proud of Gia, to be honest.

“We rarely find a depth by looking inside of ourselves for it. Depth is found in what we can learn from the people and things around us. Everyone, everything, has a story, Gia. When you learn those stories, you learn experiences that fill you up, that expand your understanding. You add layers to your soul.”

Still, this book didn’t make me feel giddy inside or you know, like how normal romance books do. The writing style of the author and the plot were okay, I didn’t have any problem with those but as I said, the characters were the main problem *shrugs*

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

  1. I feel like people always judge when I want to read these cutesy fluff books, but I’m with you, they’re some of my favorite books! They’re just so fun and fluffy, and I enjoy being able to finish them in a day. I haven’t read anything by Kasie West, but I’ll definitely check this one out. Even if it’s not perfect, it seems like a cute book I’d love!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

