REVIEW: Light of Day by Allison van Diepen

24980610

Title: Light of Day

Author: Allison van Diepen

Publisher: HarperTeen

ISBN: 9780062303479

Rating: 3/5

Synopsis: The danger of night can bleed into day.

Like any other Saturday night, Gabby Perez and her best friend, Maria, are out dancing. But this isn’t just another night. When a mysterious stranger warns Gabby their drinks have been drugged, she hurries Maria home. Sure enough, the next day, Maria can’t remember a thing. Gabby’s shaken by their close call. And she’s not going to stay quiet about it.

She opens up on her radio show and discovers an even worse truth: the guy who drugged them was going to force them into prostitution. Then Gabby’s friend Bree never makes it home from a party, and Gabby fears the worst.

Gabby reaches out to the guy who saved her, the gorgeous stranger she knows only as X. As they dive into the seedy underworld of Miami, searching for Bree, they can’t ignore their undeniable attraction. Until Gabby discovers the truth about who X really is and the danger that surrounds him. Can their love survive the light of day?”

This book was a disappointment for me and I’m beyond sad right now.

If you read my review of On the Edge, you will remember that I absolutely loved it and it was even in my “2015 favorites” list. When I learned that there would be a spin-off/sequel and my babies from the previous book would be present, I was ecstatic. I couldn’t be happier, you get me?

But this book, naah… I mean, I should have known I would not like it because the jacket material was different than the first book’s and I didn’t like the cover models at all. Joking, heh, of course I would not judge this book by its cover.

It started off fine with the descriptions of the characters, their backgrounds and all the other usual things.

However, I couldn’t get used to Gabby as the main character. She was… very reckless. I got how she hated her relationship with her family yet she did absolutely nothing to explain her actions to her parents which would have been very helpful. It was as if she didn’t want her relationship with them to be good.

I also didn’t like the whole relationship of hers with X. It looked very forced, there was no chemistry whatsoever and I think they don’t even know each other that well. Gabby is just confusing lust with love, imo *rolls eyes*. They are incompatible. I couldn’t find the passion nor the love I found in On the Edge.

Still, there were some cute and steamy moments between them and I am not complaining, at least they were, like, the charms of the book.

“Who knew a crush could actually be painful? Maybe that’s why it’s called a crush.

One last thing, the events were very off. They didn’t have the emotion On the Edge had. And they didn’t have a proper closure. It was like the author talked about the climax of the event and skipped to the next chapter before the “resolution”.

Probably the only good thing about this books was that it wasn’t boring. I was able to finish this book in two days, however, it would have been shorter if it weren’t for my trip to Luxembourg.

“There are a lot of people who get screwed up but are worth saving.”

I was going to give this book only one star but at least I was able to see my babies, Lobo and Maddie again. The second star is for their sake.

So no, I wouldn’t recommend this book, unless you have some super huge faith in van Diepen.

Where to Buy: Amazon

Leave a Reply

