REVIEW: Just One Day (series) by Gayle Forman

17623975

*may include minor spoilers*

Title: Just One Day (Just One Day, Just One Year, Just One Night)

Author: Gayle Forman

Publisher: Totally Random Books

ISBN: 9780147518163 (collection)

Pages: Just One Day 369, Just One Year 323, Just One Night 88

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis: “Allyson Healey’s life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last day of her three-week post-graduation European tour, she meets Willem. A free-spirited, roving actor, Willem is everything she’s not, and when he invites her to abandon her plans and come to Paris with him, Allyson says yes. This uncharacteristic decision leads to a day of risk and romance, liberation and intimacy: 24 hours that will transform Allyson’s life.

A book about love, heartbreak, travel, identity, and the “accidents” of fate, Just One Day shows us how sometimes in order to get found, you first have to get lost. . . and how often the people we are seeking are much closer than we know.”

So I want to talk about the plot of each book shortly, because I couldn’t include each detail (and by detail I mean the synopsises of each book) above.

In Just One Night, we meet Allyson, who is basically your typical YA contemporary protagonist. Allyson and her best friend Melanie (blonde plus hot, apparently) are travelling across Europe with a tour, and England, Stratford-upon-Avon is the last place. There, they meet a boy-an actor, Willem. Willem and Allyson decide to go to Paris, both have their own reasons, so they leave Melanie behind and catch a train to Paris. After and adventurous day, a day that was all Allyson needed, a day full of romance, Allyson wakes up- alone. Willem has left her. Then she starts college but she is still really sad, maybe depressed (?) because of the whole Paris fiasco. She cannot get over Willem and the only thing she knows about him is, well, his name, so she cannot stalk him on Instagram or Facebook or whatever. She then proceeds to send him a letter, via the group he performed with in Stratford-upon-Avon, demanding answers. And basically this is all I’m going to tell you because I don’t want to spoil everything heheh.

Just One Year is kind of the same as Just One Night, only it is told in Willem’s point of view so this time, we follow Willem in his journey to find the missing answers, regarding his Lulu.

And Just One Night is a novella, which takes place right after Willem and Allyson reunite.

This is basically the summary (not quite, but close enough) of the three books.

Now, onto my thoughts.

“‘I ate my first macaron in Paris on my honeymoon. I’m divorced now, but some loves are enduring. Especially if they happen in Paris.'”

-Just One Day

Just One Day was probably my favorite out of all three. I have to admit it, it was a bit boring at first, because of the whole introducing the characters thing. I’m a sucker for romance so I couldn’t wait until I got to the romantic parts of the book.

I loved the determination of Allyson when she travelled to Paris again after a year, to not only find Willem but also find the part of her she left behind, find Lulu. 

Compared to Just One Day, Just One Year was more boring. Don’t get me wrong, I love Willem but as I said above, I love romance and everything about it and what Willem went through was not generally about romance, differently from what Allyson went through. And I ashamedly need to admit that I may have skipped some parts while reading. Maybe it was because of the anticipation of reading the part where they finally reunite, I just couldn’t wait.

So many girls, I’d thought. Why am I trying to find just one?”

-Just One Year

That ending, though. I was very mad because of the ending, it was basically nothing. It didn’t reveal anything and it wasn’t worth the wait at a l l. Thankfully, the novella was there to rescue me from despair. :’D The novella was pretty short, obviously, and I wish it were longer because I couldn’t get enough. I want to know more, I want to know everything about Willem and Allyson and even Brodje and Wren and Wolfgang arghgjghghghhghghhg *melts into a puddle*

“Is his mom Jewish? Israeli? Why didn’t I think to ask him any of these questions when I had the chance? But I know why. Because when I was with him, I felt like I already knew him.”

-Just One Day

I don’t have much to say about this series. The only reason I gave it 4 stars out of 5 was the second book, as I said, I didn’t like it that much. And maybe the ending. :’D

If I Stay and Where She Went didn’t have the same impact on me as it had on other people, so I wasn’t expecting much from the first book and the rest of the series. However, I can say that Just One Day is now in my 2016 favorites. It was a very cute and gripping book/series and perfect for your daily dose of romance of cuteness. Read it, read it now!

“And I felt it all -the wanting and the needing- but  also the fear because I’d seen what losing this kind of thing could do. I wanted to be protected by her love, and to be protected from it.

I didn’t understand then. Love is not something you protect. It’s something you risk.”

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository (collection)

Leave a Reply

