REVIEW: Breathless by Jessica Warman

6449903

Title: Breathless

Author: Jessica Warman

Publisher: Walker Children’s

ISBN: 9780802798497

Pages: 320

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis: When Katie Kitrell is shipped off to boarding school by her distant father and overbearing mother, it doesn’t take her long to become part of the It Crowd. She’s smart, she’s cute, and she’s an Olympic-bound swimmer who has a first class ticket to any Ivy League school of her choice. But what her new friends, roommate, and boyfriend don’t know is that Katie is swimming away from her past, and from her schizophrenic older brother, Will, who won’t let her go. And when he does the unthinkable, it’s all Katie can do to keep her head above water.”

I got this book from Thriftbooks when they gave me a discount code for my birthday, I was like “hey they gave me a code I can’t miss this opportunity” and decided to buy 2 books-one of them was this one. I honestly wasn’t expecting to like it or anything and I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have started reading it but the books on my bookshelf kept falling down without this one so yeah.

“I’m not mean, I’m honest. Nobody is ever straightforward. But sometimes people need to hear the truth.” 

Like I said, I didn’t have any high expectations or anything like that and when I started the book, I became very close to putting it down three or four times. The main character wasn’t a person you see everyday (or at least for me it was like that) and so were the people around her. I find it a bit uncomfortable at first to read about all these new people.

I didn’t put the book down though and I’m so glad I didn’t. I was able to see Katie grow up and change throughout the book and this is probably the most amazing character development I have ever seen. I don’t want to spoil anything so I’m not going to describe the whole thing but it was very realistic. She doesn’t change overnight or anything unbelievable like that.

We meet Katie when she’s 12 (if I’m not wrong) and the last time we see her, she is probably around her mid-twenties. 300 pages are normally not quite enough for us to see specific changes in a character but this one… No.

“Just because she isn’t timid or quiet and says what’s on her mind doesn’t make her a bitch.”

When we first learned that Drew was a very religious Christian and he often mentioned how people who are bad Christians/non-Christians were going to hell, I admit, I said “oh shoot”. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have anything against Christians or religious people, I just find it extremely hard to read a book where someone is being pressurised into doing/believing something-especially if it has to do with religion.

I also hated Estella. I know people like her and I know that you cannot escape from them no matter how hard you try because of their glorious and compelling selves. I know that it is hard to stand up for yourself when you are talking with them and I know pretty much everything else. These friendships, man, they are toxic and I don’t understand how Katie was able to handle her bitchy attitude all those years.

“It’s possible, isn’t it? That a boy could be interested in a girl for something other than sex?”

I loved the fact that the author didn’t forget about Katie’s family the whole time she was writing how Katie was always busy between friendship dramas and swimming practices.

“But I know he’ll call, no matter what shape he’s in. Even when I hate him, I love him. Even when he stops calling, I hear his voice. Will is my only brother. Without each other – without the invisible thread that binds us together, no matter how weak or frayed it becomes – we are simply drifting, all alone, without anything like a compass to know where we’re headed.” 

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository

(The word count was 666 and I had to do something hi yes ignore this please thanks heh)

Leave a Reply

