REVIEW: Finding Paris by Joy Preble

22864861

Title: Finding Paris

Author: Joy Preble

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

ISBN: 9780062321305

Pages: 272

Rating: 3/5

Synopsis: “Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn’t going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.

Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.”

Finding Paris is about a girl called Leo, who starts searching for her sister after she ditches her for some reason when they go out. A boy named Max, whom Leo had just met then, is also helping her with this search. We also know that their mother is not very responsible. So with these, we follow Leo as she tries to find her sister with the help of Max and the notes that Paris left for her in specific places.

Do I even have to talk about the cover? They say “don’t judge a book by its cover” but it’s really hard to stop yourself from falling in love with a book before even reading it, just by seeing its cover. I fell in love with this cover, but not the story.

This book was a pretty quick read, you don’t really get bored when you’re reading it because there is always a minor plot twist or something new to learn. If it weren’t for school, I’d probably finish it in 2 days.

I love how determined Leo was to find her sister. I think this is what sisterhood should be like, not giving up on the other no matter how hard it is or how tired you are, because hey, she’s your sister.

One thing that bothered me the most about the book is Max and Leo’s relationship. I loved how they met:

“A neutron walks into a bar and asks how much a drink costs,” I say, bolder now.

The boy blinks again. One side of his mouth curves up and then he’s smiling full-on, bright as the sun. My chest tightens. Any second now, I’ll know that the physics book is just a prop to pick up girls in the middle of the night.

“And the bartender replies, ‘For you no charge,'” he finishes.

However, this ‘relationship’ ceased to catch my attention after they got in the car to find Paris. Everything about it was too forced and I couldn’t see the chemistry between the characters. And I think it moved a little too fast. Maybe it’s because this book only tells us a two-day time period and therefore the author didn’t have the luxury to develop a full relationship between the two characters, I don’t know. Again, towards the end of the book, I remembered how little they actually know each other.

Max’s role in finding Paris and all other events was also pretty predictable. I knew from the start (well, not the start but maybe after one or two chapters) that he was involved in this in a way that the author wasn’t going to explain for a while, so I wasn’t quite surprised when the bomb exploded. 😀

Paris’ notes for Leo, oh dear God, I was finding it hard not to tear my hair out. I don’t know if it’s possible for a human being to give this unclear, confusing explanations. I actually dreaded the notes, because they weren’t meaningful at all.

The plot twist in the end wasn’t expected, though. I didn’t think this book would include a very important problem in our society, because it seems like such a light read. The reason behind Paris’ actions were finally clear, so that made sense.

So, this book was… alright. I wouldn’t say it’s incredible but I also wouldn’t say that it’s absolutely horrible. Somewhere in the middle. I’m usually the one to give very generous ratings so I doubt all of you are going to like this. Don’t let the cover fool you. 😀

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository

**I tried to write this review without spoilers but I think I failed drastically. Now I’m certain, writing reviews without giving out spoilers is not for me.**

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Finding Paris by Joy Preble

Leave a Reply

