REVIEW: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

image

*contains spoilers*

Title: Vanishing Girls

Author: Lauren Oliver

Publisher: Harper

ISBN: 9780062224101

Pages: 375

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: “Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.”

MIND-BLOWING.

If you look at my latest review (which is Before I Fall), you’ll see that I addressed Lauren Oliver as my “favorite author”. If anyone asks me why, I’m going to throw this book to their faces.

Vanishing Girls is about two sisters, Nicole –Nick– and Dara who are also best friends. They share secrets & do almost everything together, until they have a car accident that causes Dara to drift away from Nick. The book tells us how Nick tries to find why Dara stopped talking to her & the reasons for her uncommon behavior.

The chapters switch between Dara’s pov and Nick’s pov, which was a little bit confusing at first but once you get to know the character’s better, the confusion  vanishes (like the girls. HA.)

“90 percent of the time, when you fall in love, somebody gets burned.”

The writing was very compelling. Before I Fall didn’t thrill me as much as I thought it would, Delirium was fascinating and this, this book made me lose the ability to form a coherent thought. (haven’t read Panic yet) and since Before I Fall is probably the first book Lauren Oliver wrote, this showed me how her writing has improved over time. I finished this book in one sitting, it had me completely hooked up.

The story was also well written. It was mysterious and exciting and definitely well-thought-through. I still had some questions after I finished the book though, and after finding the answers I was looking for on the internet, everything makes a lot more sense. Fully understanding Nick’s situation takes effort, you probably won’t be able to understand everything in 10 minutes.

You could relate to Nick; even if you don’t have a sister or haven’t had a car accident or somebody you love didn’t disappear, you can find a piece of yourself in the story. The way Nick thinks and feels and acts, they are all relatable somehow.

“That’s what life is, pretty much: full of holes and tangles and ways to get stuck. Uncomfortable and itchy. A present you never asked for, never wanted, never chose. A present you’re supposed to be excited to wear, day after day, even when you’d rather stay in bed and do nothing.”

The ending was totally unexpected, I wasn’t expecting that at all (now that I think of it, Lauren Oliver has a habit of writing unexpected endings haha)

Some people compared the ending of this book and the ending of We Were Liars, saying that if they didn’t read We Were Liars first, this book would have been a lot better but I disagree. What Nick hallucinated and what Cath hallucinated were completely different, and I believe Vanishing Girls was slightly more surprising.

“That’s the problem with therapists: you have to pay them to say the same dumb shit other people will tell you for free.”

So, this book was a amazing, so so good. If you like mysteries and if you aren’t disappointed when you guess the ending of the book correctly before it ends, and unless you have some weird hate-relationship with Lauren Oliver for some weird reason, you should definitely read this book.

Now I only have to read Panic before declaring Lauren Oliver as my first-ever-serious- favorite author, hehe.

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

