REVIEW: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Red Queen

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Publisher: Orion Books

ISBN: 9781409151173

Pages: 383

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis: “The poverty-stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change. Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control. But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?”

“Anyone can betray anyone.”

These 4 words basically summarize the WHOLE book and make sure you don’t forget them because HOLY CRAP. I need to start by saying that my expectations were very low before starting this book (maybe that’s a reason why I liked it so much), I completely judged it based on its genre because it was released at a time when I wasn’t very fond of dystopian/fantasy novels and I had no intention of buying it at all but when I saw it on the shelves at the bookstore, I couldn’t hold myself back. In the beginning, the book reminded me so much of The Hunger Games with the “2 different parts of the country, one of them is really poor while the other one is rolling in money, people living in the poor part are always the ones that die first in war zones or because of incurable diseases and they are also the ones sent first to a war” theme(s). Towards the middle of the book, the “originality” problem was solved (kind of), thankfully. Still, there were parts of the book that reminded me of The Hunger Games, especially the Epilogue was a bit similar to the ending of Catching Fire. The book was incredibly fast-paced and this is a huge bonus. Normally I finish dystopian books in about 3-4 or maybe 5 days but I finished Red Queen in 2 days. It didn’t get boring, the plot was always interesting to read. THE PLOT TWISTS, MAN, THE PLOT TWISTS. Though the book was interesting, there wasn’t anything significant that was happening until you came to page 300, and then BOOM plot twist after plot twist after plot twist and it came to a point where I thought my heart wasn’t going to be able to handle it.

“The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.”

The book was amazing and I loved it, yes, but I don’t think it fascinated me that much. I mean I’m not going to go to my room, cry over the characters and not leave until the second book comes out. Sure, it will be on my “most anticipated releases” list but yeah, it didn’t affect me as much as I thought it would. Overall, Red Queen is a really interesting & well-planned/well-written dystopian novel. Unless you don’t like it when a book reminds you of another book (are you willing to risk it though, because I’m pretty sure I was the only one who thought it was like THG), READ IT. (I’ve also realized that it’s very hard to write a review of a book when you actually liked that book -,-)

“Words can lie. See beyond them.”
Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository
One thought on “REVIEW: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

