REVIEW: The Heir by Kiera Cass

The Heir (The Selection, #4)

Title: The Heir

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 978-0-06-239746-1

Pages: 342

Rating: 3.5/5

**may contain spoilers**

Here it comes. The fourth book in The Selection series which was an amazing series up until this book. This book was good and bad in so many different ways, I’ll probably mostly talk about the bad things but you can see some good things about the book here and there.

Our protagonist is Eadlyn Schreave, the oldest child of the Schreaves and the heir to the throne. The problems continue from the third book and when Maxon (who is the king) realizes that he needs to distract the people in order to maintain peace and security, at least for a little bit. That’s when Eadlyn comes into the picture. Apparently, our lovely Schreave parents assured Eadlyn that they wouldn’t hold a selection for her and try to “limit” her freedom but eventually, they realize that a selection may be the perfect distraction.

“‘Eadlyn, darling, we want you to be the best queen you can be, that’s all,’ she pleaded.

‘I will,’ I answered, one foot in the hallway. ‘And I certainly don’t need a boy to show me how to do that.'”

Eadlyn is a different girl. She’s not the easiest person to get along with and because she didn’t necessarily leave the castle since her birth, the people of Illéa aren’t used to her. Especially since she is the first girl to come to the throne, the people have their own doubts about her leadership skills. She is not met with a positive response the first time she leaves the castle and this makes her want to “change” herself.

Now onto my opinions.

1. I didn’t like Eadlyn. At all. (maybe only 20%) Most of the time, she acted like a spoiled brat with her nose in the air. Three fourths of the story was her making a scene over the smallest thing and that kind of annoyed me, especially because she didn’t exactly try to solve them.

I also thought she was a bit selfish. I mean, I know, being forced into meeting 35 guys and then getting married with one of them must be very hard for her and she definitely has the right to be angry but she could at least try to work for her family’s and country’s well-being. Eliminating 6 (was it six?) guys, all at once, just to get rid of them faster and finish the “thing” earlier? No, Eadlyn, no.

2. The problems weren’t solved. At first, there was only one problem that Eadlyn needed to solve in order to live peacefully (at least for a few months) and it wasn’t very hard to find a solution to that, she only needed to think rationally. However, she somehow managed to make everything worse and create some more problems to solve—not only by herself but also her family too and this made me read the book in constant frustration.

“WHY ARE WE GOING ROUND AND ROUND AND BACK TO THE SAME POINT?!?!?!?!?!?!?”

“BACK TO THE START AGAIN. WTF MAN.”

“READING THIS BOOK IS EMOTIONALLY EXHAUSTING.”

– Taken from my notes while reading the book.

3. sfljafakfjakajf America and Maxon are my babies and I love them so so so so much and I didn’t think it’d be hard for me to read the book in the beginning but then I started taking deep breaths now and then. Seeing them all grown up and in ruler-slash-parent mode made me want to tear up towards the end of the book. I don’t want them to grow up, I want them to stay 18 forever and that’s why I don’t think I’ll love the stories about Eadlyn as much as I loved the first three books.

4. Now that I think of it, Eadlyn wasn’t entirely bad. There were moments I found what she said relatable…

“I held it in, keeping the brave face I’d always  been taught to have. No one could know how much that hurt.”

…and sometimes, rarely even, she said some wise things.

“I’m not sure anyone knows what they’re looking for until they find it.”

5. Apparently, there is going to be another book. Oh, the joy (not). I really hope this series doesn’t end up like House of Night *deep praying*

****

Before finishing this review, I need to tell you that from the start to the end (of the book), I always thought Henri was too cute for his own good. After finishing the book, I realized that I may have the perfect Henri in my mind…

Mhm….. Yes….

To sum up, I think I can say that this book wasn’t as good as the first three books. Sure, you can read it and maybe even like it (because most of my friends loved it .x_x) but there is also a possibility that you may get bored easily.

Where to Buy: Amazon // Book Depository

Leave a Reply

