REVIEW: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

71XqNajxelL._SL1500_

Contains spoilers (there is a warning before & after the spoiler)

Title: Ugly Love

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publisher: Atria Paperback

ISBN: 978-1-4767-5318-8

Pages: 322

Rating: 5/5

“Love isn’t always pretty, Tate. Sometimes you spend all your time hoping it’ll eventually be something different. Something better. Then, before you know it, you’re back to square one, and you lost your heart somewhere along the way.”

I think it’s safe to say that I devoured this book.

This book was a total emotional roller-coaster for me. Ugly Love was on top of my to-be-read list because I kept seeing posts about it on Tumblr and Instagram and Twitter and I was really sad that I couldn’t find it in my local bookstores. But I did, and thank God I did because the book was AMAZING.

The only thing I need to say about the plot is that the start was incredibly intriguing, I liked the fact that it wasn’t love at first sigh. Besides this, the story was incredibly well-planned, I couldn’t put the book down and finished it in 2 days (haven’t done that in a while)

The characters were a bit confusing and (a little) frustrating sometimes. For example, I wanted to slap Miles several times because of his stupid decisions and actions (trying so hard not to give spoilers right now). I actually didn’t think a person could be this thoughtless and oblivious to his surroundings and I understand that he had his reasons but he was just so afraid to take risks that he hurt people he cared about in the end and that kind of annoyed me.

(spoiler)

I don’t really believe that he’s 100% over Rachel—but then, you can never completely recover from losing your baby and your girlfriend. However, I still expected him to realize he cared for Tate sooner, not after talking to Rachel.

(end of spoiler)

Tate is Miles’ best friend’s sister, a 23-year old nurse-in-training. She moves in with her brother, Corbin, and the first person she sees in the apartment is Miles. They take two steps forward then a step back during their “relationship” and that’s the most irritating part to me. Tate didn’t say anything while Miles was treating her like shit. I kept waiting to see if Tate was going to say “Fuck it, I’m worth much more and I don’t want anything to do with you anymore” but she didn’t and I had to calm myself down three or four times. Aye Tate, you’re an amazing human being and you should find someone who treats you well.

But the story was awesome, the character development towards the end of the book was also made the book more realistic and I liked to think that the character development showed us that the characters are actually real people, not robots.

Don’t hesitate, BUY THIS BOOK.

-Team “Can I Break Rule Number 2 with Miles Archer?”

Where to Buy: Book Depository // Amazon

Leave a Reply

